top of page
Search

Racism In Vet Med


*Click link to be directed to our website to purchase. Artwork done by Brittany Rodriguez at Pixelperfect.art*

**A donation from the proceeds of the shirt listed above will be given to the The Black DVM Network**


It's no surprise that racism is ramped in this country right now. It has been for centuries. Believe it or not, veterinary medicine is not exempt.


We asked our followers this exact question:


What can we do as white people to create a more inclusive space in VetMed?

These are the responses from our instagram followers:

  1. Stop entertaining racist comments from clients. Just because they're clients doesn't mean they get a free pass.

  2. Encourage management to hire interns/techs/doctors of color!

  3. Ask us before you react. I felt alienated by colleagues "good intentions."

  4. I was the only brown person in my last practice and the amount of "jokes"...

  5. Even small steps like making an effort to say names properly. Don't dismiss a non standard name.

  6. Not prejudge clients based on race.

  7. Have open conversations with staff to eliminate stereotypes and push for diverse hiring!

  8. Don't ignore us. Listen when we say we're uncomfortable or offended.

  9. Fire clients that use racial slurs for names of their pets/racial slurs in general.

  10. Actively seek opportunities to engage. Encourage power and place in all decision making.

  11. I love your posts, but don't think color/race/religion should be a factor.

  12. I think ideally people should be required to take humanities courses in their programs.

  13. Be aware of how being a person of color affects our lives.

  14. Listen to POC and what their needs/concerns are and actually act on it.

  15. Be inclusive!

  16. Recognize biases!

  17. Post more colored artist artwork in the office!

  18. Listen!!!

  19. Put yourself in their shoes. How would you want to be treated.

I will admit, and most of my followers know, that I was conflicted when it came to the BLM movement. I certainly didn't want to use my platform to advertise it. I didn't want to bring negativity or "politics" into this group. It took me talking to a dear friend of mine, and a lot of criticism from my followers to open my eyes.


Racism is NOT political. It is easy for white people to take offense to the terms "White Fragility" or White Supremacy." It speaks negatively about them and most people shut down when this happens. However, I did A LOT of soul searching and reading to help me realize that those words aren't what you think.


I had to put myself in POC shoes on a day to day basis. Do I have to worry about being looked at weird at the store? Do I have to worry about being profiled? Do I have to worry about being stereotyped as a thug in a poor neighborhood? No, I do not. Now, if you're white and you're reading this pissed off, I encourage you to read those questions and honestly answer them. Because I too was pissed when I was in your shoes. However, imagine being a POC and being unheard. Imagine being a POC and being singled out.


This same type of racism and inequality is happening right in your clinics. How many POC do you have employed? How many POC are managers or supervisors? How many clients claim their pets don't like POC? It starts and stops with us. I preach that people, clients, friends, family, even pets, treat us how we let them. If you are allowing racism to happen within your clinic, you are just as guilty as the person being racist.


What opened my eyes?


Listening. Like exactly listed above by one of my followers. Stop being defensive, and just listen. Read a book, read posts, listen to POC, be open minded. I took a step back and just listened. After a lot of thinking and listening to what people had to say, I got it. It takes incredible strength and courage to admit you were ignorant.


Now, I've never been racist. My mom always raised me to treat everyone with respect and kindness regardless of the color of someone's skin. But not being racist isn't enough. Standing with your fellow American POC citizens and supporting them shows you actually care. Asking them these questions and following through with a change shows you actually care. Actions speak louder than words.


How can we help end racism in Vet Med?


  • Read the comments above.

  • Ask this exact question to your staff & make a change.

  • Don't allow racist clients into your practice.

  • Don't allow racist staff to be employed there.

  • Get rid of the "White Is Right" term used for the EKG lead placement.

  • Stop making fun of (even jokingly) non-standard names.

  • Stop allowing racist jokes or comments within the clinic.

All the staff has to come together to help make a difference. It won't happen over night, or even within a month. But as Martin Luther King Jr. said


"You don't have to see the whole staircase; just take the first step."

Sources:

Our instagram group of followers.

My own personal thoughts & opinions.



Shena Humbert, LVT

Not Another Vet Nurse

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page