top of page
Search

Home At Last



 

It feels good to be back!


I haven't been back home (Texas) in about 8 years! That doesn't seem like a long time but it was long enough! I got to see my friends from high school that I haven't seen in the same room since high school, and family friends. It was a total blast from the past!


My mom got us tickets to Five Finger Death Punch so the next day we drove to another city in Texas to see them. They along with a few other bands did amazing. There was one band that we saw that really impressed me. Their name is Bad Wolves. They stopped between songs to discuss a few things and one of them was suicide. They said they take time at each show to discuss suicide prevention. Five Finger also took time between shows to discuss suicide and depression awareness. They had us all hug the people next to us so that no one feels alone. The Five Finger lead singer also talked to someone at the meet and greet about addiction - I guess this person had only been clean for like 70 days. The lead singer used to be an addict to so he used that time to discuss that as well.


I don't usually get teary eyed at rock concerts but at this one I did. Mental health isn't only an issue within our field but without our country. When they both talked about it I felt like we were all finally being heard. Mental health is so important to me. It's so funny how you start to see it everywhere you go. You become more aware of it being an issue. I didn't expect to think about it while on vacation at a rock concert...but it made my heart so full to know we're not all alone.


On a happier note - I am an obsessed dedicated Cowboys fan (I'm from Dallas ya'll) and I got to see where they practice. I got to see memorabilia and other cool stuff from them. Then my mom and I went and got matching tattoos. I have been wanting one for a long time and we finally made it happen.


Texas Bluebonnet

That was right after it was done so it was a little red. My mom got the same one on her ankle. My mom and I never used to be close but the older I got we've become a lot closer. To me this symoolizes where I come from and the love I have for my momma.


I'm not sure who was happier when we picked out dogs up, me or them. My female is the most high maintenance dog I've ever met, and yes I know it's because of me! She didn't eat for like 3 days, and I called probably more than I should have (facepalm). Being a tech I know how annoying it is to deal with those needy clients. But at the same time I've been a client so I know how difficult it is to leave your pets in someone else's hands. Nobody can take care of them like I can!


Now I am counting down the days until I go back to work. I actually miss work and am ready. Now to get things ready for work...like the 10 loads of laundry I have (ugly crying emoji). I am also supposed to record with Megan today so stay tuned for more episodes!


Hope ya'll have had a good week, weekend, and have an even better week next week!


Shena

Not Another Vet Nurse


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page